Travel list to be updated today in House of Commons

Holidaymakers are set to find out if more countries are to be added to the green list or moved to the amber or red list.

Transport secretary Grant Shapps is set to announce the changes in the house of commons later today.

Currently, there are only 11 countries that are on the green list – all being non-European countries.

Moreover, there are 167 countries on the amber list which once returned from any country from this list, you must quarantine at home or in the place you are staying for 10 days. You may be able to end quarantine early through the Test to Release scheme if you pay for a private COVID-19 test.

This comes after German Chancellor Angela Merkel during Thursday’s summit with EU leaders expressed that all British travellers who travel to European Union countries should be placed into quarantine.

“In our country, if you come from Great Britain, you have to go into quarantine – and that’s not the case in every European country, and that’s what I would like to see”.

The chancellor expressed her concern over the COVID-19 cases rising in Portugal – a country that does not require British travellers to isolate.

“We now have a situation in Portugal that could perhaps have been avoided, and that’s why we have to work even harder on this”.

Moreover, other countries that allow British travellers to travel without restrictions include Spain, and France for those who have had two COVID vaccines.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

You don't have permission to register